Automation Phat on Raspberry Zero W

Hello,

total beginner in respect of solderding things together:

I have a Raspberry Pi Zero W and the Automation Phat with one relay.

I connected the Pi Zero to the respective ports on the Automation Phat:

Pi Zero <-> Automation Phat
17 (+3,3) <-> 3,3 (Power)
20 (Gnd) <-> GND (Power)
21 (SPI Miso) <-> Miso (SPI)
19 (SPI Mosi) <-> Mosi (SPI)
23 (SPI SCLK) <-> SCLK
24 (SPI CS0) <-> CE0

Althouth I run the setup as described on https://github.com/pimoroni/automation-hat I cannot find any device with ‘i2cdetect -y 0’ and also cannot use the example code on https://github.com/pimoroni/automation-hat/blob/master/examples/relay.py. I measured from each soldering point to the respective other soldering point and each time have a resistance of .001 Ohm. So I assume the solderings are fine.

So the questions are: Is my assumption regardint Pi GPIO-Port to PHat port correct? Anything obvious I am missing?

Thanks for any input!

Is there a reason for not using the 2x20 header? I have a zero w with automation pHat and it works fine.

Without seeing your measure points I would caution you in assuming that just because you measure a good connection between two endpoints of a solder joint does not mean that the board is making a good connection. If you can measure from a chip-pin to chip-pin you’ll know for certain that you have a good connection. :-)

What distro are you running on your zero? My config is running jessie.

Hi Cxrider,

thanks for your response. You are right regarding the soldering. I will try to get a soldering iron with a more pointed head to make sure the soldering points really are working. As a note to this: When measuering from the Pi-End to the wrong endpoint of the Automation Phat I get resistances in the M-Ohm range, which seems to me an indication that the connection seems to be working.