Issues with Picade joystick

Hi there,

I bought my Picade cabinet few days ago and built it together.
First issue I had was the display wouldn’t work , but I found my way around changing the config.text .
Now the Picade Joystick and buttons only work in the Retropie menu and refuse to work in Retroarch menu and in all emulators.
Basically I can’t play any games. I spent all day reading the forum and tried to update the pcb board’s firmware through running the updater in Picade-Sketch (and chosen the recommended option) etc. etc., but I can’t see any changes. When updating controls in Retropie ,the Picade is still recognised as keyboard, not joypad. I then read about rebinding Picade controls and using Picade.py(?) , how do I do that? Please explain all steps, as I am new to this.
What else do I have to do to fix this ?

Sorry your post has gone unanswered for so long- I was hoping one of the Picade gurus on this forum would pick it up, since I don’t get much time to play with a Picade/RetroPie so my expertise is very limited!

You could try whipping up a quick python script to switch your Picade PCB into Gamepad mode.

Try running sudo nano setuppicade.py and filling the file with this content:

import serial
picade = serial.Serial('/dev/ttyACM0',9600,timeout=1.0)
picade.write("g")
print(picade.readline().strip())
picade.write("s")
print(picade.readline().strip())

Save by pressing Ctrl+X, then Y, and enter to confirm.

And then run with sudo python setuppicade.py

Hello Gadgetoid,

thanks for your reply.
I have run the code and now the joystick and buttons are recognised as gamepad.
Now in Retropie’s options I have configured the controls and they do work properly in menus.Once I am in the emulators, all controls are all over the place.
I then went into Retroarch to try and configure controls bindings from there, but once done ,they still are all wrong in all emulators.
Am I missing something here…? do we need to configure Retroarch cfg in another way. ?