Looking for someone that can run an electronics session in the West Midlands

Good evening people of the Pimoroni forum, I’m hoping someone can help with a need that I have.

I run a community forum in Birmingham aimed at the local tech scene. Although this is mostly focused on programming (along with business, design, et al.), more recently there has been an increased interest in electronics and the maker scene.

It is this which has given me the idea of starting a local meetup group for anyone interested in learning electronics. I’m a total novice myself, so was initially looking to use this as a chance to find other people with a similar interest to learn with - but the idea has since evolved to that of an instructor lead day session.

Long story short, what I’m looking for is someone with the knowledge and know how to come to Birmingham for a day and lead a workshop session teaching the basics of electronics.

It doesn’t need to be anything too advanced, just some basics of components such as resistors, capacators, transistors, and maybe some ICs, etc… and have it all work towards building something (maybe a small robot?) which the participants can take home.

Obviously, such things aren’t free, so I’m not looking for charity, just someone who can plan the session, and lead the workshop.

If this sounds like you, please get in touch. For reference, here’s a link to the original thread. Thank you.

I would be interested in the local meetup group; I have been involved in electronics for the last 15 years although I am a retired mechanical engineer. I mainly do audio amps and have built them from scratch along with pic processors. I make my own pcb’s using autocad and am currently trying to set up a self help rpi group Shirley area but I don’t know if I could manage a workshop.

Hi Roger, thanks for your reply.

I’ve got a feeling that we could probably help each other out here, as it sounds like we have similar goals, although in slightly different disciplines.