Newbie Project - Radio controlled pop up targets

I am a Windows based IT professional who is learning about Rapsberry Pi etc due to being involved in Linux based IoT projects at work.

I’ve bought myself a Raspberry Pi and have learnt the basics in the Raspberry Pi cookbook; however I learn better when I have a project to immerse myself in.

Rather than work on projects that don’t really have any use to me (other than technical exercises), I would like to build myself a set of pop up targets, which either pop in a sequence or individually and can also be knocked down after a set period of time if they have been missed. Kind of lack a “whack-a-mole” type thing

I’m pretty sure I can code what is needed and my cousin is an architectural blacksmith, so I am confident we can sort the engineering of the target mechanisms. I thought servo motors would be a good way of pushing up and knocking down the targets.

However, rather than being surrounded by wires, that get tangled or tripped over, I would like the targets to be wirelessly controlled, so that they can be individually moved around and repositioned.

Therefore (thanks for persevering), what would be the best hardware solution? I’ve seen the Adafruit 16-Channel PWM / Servo HAT which can control enough servos - however how would the radio transmitter/receiver work with this? Would Arduino be a better route?

I just thought it was worth getting some advice before I spend a load of time and money going down a dead end.

Any and all advice welcome :)

Welcome! It’s cool you’re getting involved in linux-based IoT projects, and the Pi, plus the excellent learning-focussed community behind it ( tee hee! ), is a really great place to start.

I’ve not done much with wireless, but I’ll chime in with some pointers in what’s, hopefully, the right direction.