This is how I got Pirate Radio to Work with Radio and Spotify

Pirate Radio

Hi guys:

I thought I’d buy a Pirate Radio as an Xmas Present for various nephews and a daughter who are doing coding. But first, to see whether it was the right thing and easy to set up, I thought I’d build the first one myself.

I’ve had some experience in UNIX and DOS and can do more than wire a plug. It should be easy although I don’t have much experience with Pi’s.

The headline is that it took me twelve hours by the time I’d tried three bare-metal installs without too many instructions to follow and loads of googling around on the interweb.

Once I’d done three reinstalls, the last one took about an hour so I’d thought I’d write down to benefit those who want to have it up and running for Xmas lunch on 25th December. It’s a great product but it needs all the steps written down in one place for newbies.

Assembly

Putting the components together was pretty straightforward and took an hour including the secondary stereo speaker and the ‘hammered’ non-solder connectors. The instructions at
learn.pimoroni.com/tutorial/sandyj/assembling-pirate-radio
were alright but could have benefitted from some more front & side-on pictures.

I’d plugged in the NOOBS micro-CD, turned it on and expected it to work. Call me naïve!

So, the first decision to take is whether you want to

• Use the Pirate Radio to listen to a limited number of Radio Station mp3 streams that you’ll copy-and-paste enter into a config file on the pi
  • Use the Pirate Radio to listen to Spotify Radio – but only if you have a premium account.
    I tried both methods before deciding the Spotify variant was better for me…

Set-up

So, this is what I did to get it working

Burn the MicroSD Card

Get Ready for First Time Switch On

• Put the SD card in the Pi
  • Connect using the Pi to a TV using a HDMI cable [using the adapter provided in the kit]. You’ll need a TV that has a HDMI slot and a HDMI cable]