Trying to get Picade to work with a PS TV

Hi everyone,

I’m trying to get my Picade (Maxi from the original Kickstarter campaign) to run with a Playstation (Vita) TV. It’s a great fit of course, and works just fine with the screen, but getting the controllers to work is proving to be a bit of a challenge (I’m not an expert at these things).

I’ve tried to reprogram the Picade PCB with the original scancodes switched for ones from a regular Sony Dual Shock controller (published by Sony here: http://developer.sonymobile.com/2013/10/22/how-to-add-xperia-device-support-for-the-dualshock3-wireless-controller-in-your-android-game-video/

Unfortunately, the PS TV doesn’t recognise anything connected (also tried on a PS3, same result), which leads me to believe that either USB-connected joysticks must use completely different scancodes, or the Picade needs to present itself differently in some way.

Anyone here with experience in these matters?

Unfortunately, unless PS TV explicitly supports HID keyboards, joysticks or game pads as an input device you’re going to have a very difficult time getting the Picade PCB to send any useful or valid input.

I can’t find any convincing evidence, or any at all in fact, that the USB port on the Playstation TV is even functional as anything other than charging/syncing Dual Shock controllers. What happens if you plug in a regular USB keyboard? Apparently PS3 controllers actually do send control data over USB, but I don’t know if the PS TV could understand it.

You can build a device to simulate a PS3 controller ( it’s been done: https://github.com/matlo/GIMX ), but it’s somewhat complicated to accomplish and not a project to approach lightly. I also have no idea if it’ll work in your setup, but on the off chance you have the parts it’s worth a try.