Unable to configure joystick, buttons or sound using Sonicon reloaded Retropie SD card

Hi, I have just built my Picade and decided to use the above SD card as it was supposed to be pre-configured and required you to just insert it etc.
I find that I am unable to use the joystick, buttons or have any sound - I am assuming that this is down to this not having the X HAT drivers etc. (i’m new to the world of Raspberry Pi so please bear with me).
These are not selectable from the input select menu after hooking up a mouse and keyboard to try and get some response on the menus.
I do not seem to be able to ‘break out’ of the software to enter the Terminal (F4 does nothing) and I have no clue what if anything I can do - any ideas anyone please?
I know I can add a usb game pad but that defeats the whole point of having the Picade to start with.
I know the Pi4 is working correctly as I have used the SD card which came with it (containing the OS etc.) and did install the Picade X HAT on that so I have got sound and the small about of built in games work with the joystick etc.
Sorry if this is a bit of a ramble, just getting very confused!

It’s 100% down to that setup not having the XHAT drivers installed alongside it. There’s no guarantee even that installing them over the top of whatever else is in that package will work because you can’t know what else might have been changed from a stock install of retropie, but it’s worth a try. My main concern would be that it might not automatically prompt you to configure the controls on boot after the installation, so you’d need to hook up a gamepad or keyboard to open the control bind menu.

Is that preconfigured card using emulationstation? F4 to quit out to the terminal is specifically an emulationstation command, so you’d need to check whatever documentation you have for it and see if it’s even using the right front end before you know if F4 would work or not.