[Solved]ExplorerHAT Pro Blue LED failure

Hi,

I received two days ago an ExplorerHAT Pro. I installed it today and run test.py. I realized that the blue LED was on during the first try of the loop but in the next ones it was off or was blinking with low intensity. I checked the program to see if there is a kind of intensity regulation on test.py, after no seeing it I decided to write a simple program to turn on all the lights during one minute.

After a few seconds (can measure, if needed) blue LED was off, and started blinking with low intensity.

I am using a, I think properly soldered, Black Hack3r HAT to connect it so I changed the HAT to other pin row and the same happened.

Any idea? Thank you!

I’m no expert but if it lights up at all I’d say the most likely is a bad solder point if your set up, i.e Black HAT. Any way you could try to connect the HAT direct to the Pi (via link up cable if needs be)?

If not then try to touch up all 3 instances of pin 7 (BCM4) on the Black HAT, which is the pin relevant to the blue LED.

RogueM makes a good point! Also possible that the GPIO cable is faulty. How good is your power supply by the way? Can you measure the 5V rail while running your test?

The reason I question the power supply is that the forward voltage of blue LEDs tends to be higher than others so if your GPIO pin is faltering (which is supplied by the 3V3 regulator that draws from the 5V input USB) it may only affect that LED.

Thank you both for your answers.

I have been checking the pinout and comparing with the SenseHat, which worked properly last time I tried, but this is not a common pin among these two HATs.

I won’t be able today, but I’ll attach it directly to the Pi just in case. If it works, use a T-Cobbler that I have to check that it’s not the cable and if it works check the soldering of the Black HAT Hack3r. I’ll post my results once it’s done, hope to be able to do it tomorrow.